Rosie Glow Wellness

Mind body health for the deeply fabulous

2:80 This is My Horizon

4 Comments

alexandralevasseur2

Alexandra Levasseur
I think this girl looks like me. Does that, too, make me a narcissist?

One of my biggest insecurities is that, by virtue of writing this blog, everyone thinks I’m an egomaniac. For the record, I’m also insecure about my finances and my abnormally malodorous feet, but THAT is quality blog fodder for another day, my friends.

Speaking of blog fodder, it would be pretty easy to dismiss my own thoughts as unimportant. For example, the internet probably doesn’t need to know about my smelly feet, or the fact that one of my most beloved coworkers thinks her cat smells like butter cookies, or that I just signed up  to play softball make daisy chains in left field on Tuesday nights. I could beware the internet trolls, or take note of the fact that everyone hates Hannah for making everything about her. Truth, though: I’m a lot like Hannah. The very selfish parts of her are aggrandized to prove a point, obviously, but if my editor died… I would want to know the fate of my book. I wouldn’t embarrass myself at said editor’s funeral or fabricate a cousin who died at childhood to prove to my boyfriend that I had feelings (mostly because I have tons of feelings and no boyfriend), but, like Hannah, I believe my voice is worthy of being heard.

That’s right. My thoughts matter, b*tchez.

The thing is, your thoughts matter, too. If you’re keeping your unique perspective hidden because you’re afraid of judgement, I consider that selfish. You’re doing the Universe a disservice by stifling your sparkle. You Sparkle Stifler. Because we can only expand our own horizons if we acknowledge and explore the horizons of others. And this is my horizon… b*tchez.

Happy Vernal Equinox, darlings! You got something to say? Say it below!

XOXO,
Rose

Author: twitchysister

Hey you! Rosieglowwellness.com is largely devoted to musings on what balance means to an urbane, artsy-fartsy twenty-something. It’s tough out here for us post-grad women: if you’re not homeless, you’re doing something right. But do you, too, worry that you spend too much time furrowing your brows over your future when you should be unwrapping and relishing your present? Do you, like me, sometimes feel like everyone expects you to be the type of person who spends the majority of her entry-level “arts” paycheck on fifteen dollar old-timey cocktails, four a.m. cab rides home and everything sequined on the Urban Outfitters sale rack when, perhaps, you are really the type of person who would rather drink cucumber mint kale juice while wearing yoga pants and Googling reiki techniques? Is it possible that such a person is one and the same, and she is fabulous in her own, very confused right? Sister girl, I hear you. I know you. I accept you. I also know in my happy gut, full heart and coffee-addled brain that you and I are gorgeous glow worms, just as we are! We are sparkle ponies of light and love and we are still in the process of teasing out our true, authentic selves with all of this… living. So if you don’t have it figured out, if you acknowledge that you never will and that is tremendously exciting, if you want to connect with other smart chicks and tap into that charming inner-self of yours, then come back real soon, ya hear? We’re family now!

4 thoughts on “2:80 This is My Horizon

  1. Let the record show that I fucking love Marnie Michaels in all of her terribleness, and I understand her, but today I was watching the latest episode of girls and realized I had said TWO of the things Shosh says in the latest episode, exactly, in the last 24 hours. One was “I’m going to do a hair mask.”
    Non-sequitur but I might be the voice of a generation yall check the hairmask.

  2. WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE WITH YOUR ANTIOXIDANT SHOTS AND YOUR GREEN JUICE AND YOUR HAIR MASKS

  3. You are not an ego maniac. You are just doing what you do very well – writing what you know. Why write about something you don’t know? I had to write about… barf. Not barf. The proposed 2015 Budget that Obama put into the universe and everyone is up in arms about, and let me tell you. Writing about something I don’t know / don’t really care to know (because it won’t be passed or something) is stupid. If you snow about stanky feet, write about stanky feet. I know about cooking, and eating, and crying in public. I also an going to pull a whole Sex and the City over here and say that all of the “GIRLS” are a little part of each of us. Hannah, Marnie, Shosh, and Jessa are all human and easy to relate to in their uniqueness.

    Love you (and you too Emma)

Leave a comment